Spasm of reflections – Winehouse comes to mind.

Yesterday was one of those days I find myself spasm into a space of reflections of all sort – I was unable to decipher exactly what triggered it so I allowed myself to embrace the feeling without trying to make too much mental sense of it before I loose the purpose of it all.

It has been a journey on Twitter these past eleven months but one thing that stood firmly on my mind throughout as I reflect was the announcement of Amy Winehouse death. I can’t say I am a diehard fan of hers but when her music is played anywhere I listen with so much attention because somehow I can relate to what she sings about – so her death somehow open my eyes to some things I took for granted.

The superficiality of Twitter was manifested when it was announced that she had passed on in her apartment in London. I could recall rhetorics and judgemental sentiments via people’s tweets that went on Twitter about Amy being a crack head, druggy and what not and have you. Somehow those comments/tweets are still vivid till today in my mind.

I was also involved in a little “Twitter spat” with couple of people as I honestly did not find some of their tweets fair on someone they did not know personally nor have a clue of her struggles rather their only source of information was only based on what the tabloid had written about her which can go both ways with so much room for relativity.

Truth is Amy Winehouse had her demons but we cannot take the fact she was a talent, she had a voice that mellows the soul, and speak to the heart. Her music was divine, the lyrics of her songs reads truth of our hidden secrets, dark sides – I am certain God himself will be impressed about her being His creation.

We cannot dispute that Amy had her weaknesses and she never pulled through some of it but for people on Twitter to blatantly make flimsy comments about her life and the journey they never knew all about send chills to my spine till this day, hence the superficiality on the Twitter platform is so surreal sometimes.

 The reality is some of us have dead beats vampires in our closet that will stink if the world ever gets to know about them.

Was I shocked about her death, I will say yes/no. It never crossed my mind – just like anyone per se but yet again I was alerted back into reality that death as part of our human existence and giving it a blind sight at times is not a human error but a reality that we sometimes tend to deny – overlook until something tragic happens to our loved ones and we switch to that reflective mode of taking stock of our lives inventory, family and all that we care about. Why must we get to that space before appreciating the gift of life?

As I ponder upon the “take no prisoners approach” on Twitter by most people in general I continued in that reflective mode throughout the day. I realize that the human body is associated with six stages of transformation: Birth, Growth, Change, Evolution, Death and Destruction.

The reality and painful truth is death accepts no excuse, tears do not move it heart, death gives us no advance notice of it arrival to take us; notice in the form of grey hair, falling teeth, falling vision, folding of the skin neither of those because death may call any moment regardless of who you are.

Every moment, we are nearing death; death is not a deplorable event but a journey’s end. It cannot be destroyed; one should not fear death, as death is but another stage of life. Death can happen when the time signal the right moment, when the yearning for living ends but the questions in my heart does humanity really yearns to live no more?

Our life begins with a wail and must end with a smile at death, it’s a harsh reality but if we agree it’s a truth that at death we celebrate the life of the deceased and by that way we are defeating the pains and anguish of death.

In summation to my thoughts, we should appreciate and celebrate our life and those of others. Know that you are born with the dawn of every day you woke up, that you nestle in the lap of death when your eyes are close in sleep. Know that each day is a gift given to you. Know that waking from sleep is but birth and going to sleep is death, do not forget the primary goal of life, – live it to the fullest.

Death is dangling its sword over every head; our life span is fast diminishing like water leaking through a broken pot of a melting block of ice and note that death overtakes man even before he realizes his mission in life.

Let’s reflects this elixir and put our lives into perspectives in appreciating the gift of life as the year runs to a close. Amy Winehouse and others who has passed on came, they saw and conquered even in their frailties and weaknesses, they lived their life according the script written for them by the divine – so don’t judge them by your own lenses.

“All are beggars at the gate of God, the hero is he who does not beg or cringe or flatter or fawn, he knows that the Lord knows best” – Sia Baba

 @dantebello on Twitter.

One Response to “Spasm of reflections – Winehouse comes to mind.”

  1. Solai Luke Says:

    This can be a important submit! Appreciate your this! Together with best regards Luke aka couchgool.

Leave a Reply

